16
May
11

see you on the 22nd

For those who are interested, next Sunday is lining up to be a pretty normal one for me. And yes, I know what is being said about May 21st being Judgment Day. As far as I’m concerned, whenever anyone applies a date or time to that event – I make dinner plans. Hopefully I’ll feel up to eating but I have to admit this kind of prophetic twaddle makes me feel a bit sick. Seriously, why are some people obsessed with predicting the end of the world? I just don’t get it. Even more perplexing [not to mention embarrassing] is why do they insist on doing so in the name of Jesus? This kind of capricious and vain speculation is erroneous and without any Scriptural merit. It simply invites a media circus in which “Christians” are portrayed as the clowns. The wreckage left in the wake of such nonsense is extensive and significantly undermines legitimate attempts of the Christian Church to love and share truth to a culture already steeped in skepticism. 

I’ve had numerous emails asking my opinion on this matter. So, if the previous paragraph isn’t clear enough, here goes. Not only do I think those  making this prediction are sadly misguided but this kind of nonsense is simply not helpful for anyone and their foolishness risks doing irreparable damage to the cause of Christ and his Gospel of grace.

I’ll take Jesus at his word. He said to his followers, “You do not know the day or the hour.” That comment is pretty hard to dismiss. See you on Sunday, May 22nd.

0 Responses to “see you on the 22nd”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

re: the random-ness

Husband. Father. Senior Pastor of Parkview Community Church in Glen Ellyn, IL.

Ok...so you've located the place where I put down my random thoughts. The key word here is random: music, sports, art, food, books, news, spiritual musings, weird stories, etc. I'm especially interested in how everyday experiences of life intersect with the ancient stories of Scripture. Thanks for reading.
May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Thoughts gone by

"No problem can withstand the assault of substantial thinking." Voltaire

Pages


