27
Oct
10

New sport needed

Last week an inordinate number of people shared with me how “busy, tired and stressed out” they were feeling. While I listened to them complain, a part of me winced with compassion while at the same time a not so sympathetic side of me didn’t really want to hear it. Why? Because for the most part, we choose the hectic lifestyles we live. People in the burbs love to tell you how totally exhausted they are but then fall apart or get upset when you agree saying, “Yeah, you do look pretty wiped out.” Forget trying to suggest they cut back on what they’re doing because all you get in return is a defense of why cutting back is not an option. Truth is — I’m as guilty of this as anybody. But what I’ve come to realize is that much of my busy, hurry up, stress inducing and exhausting lifestyle is my own choice.

A recent Stanford University study involving zebrafish underscored the importance of rest by showing how sleep and the body’s circadian clock affect the number of neuron-to-neuron connections in a particular region of the brain. The findings could help researchers better understand why we need to rest and how, exactly, sleep is restorative. Do I need Stanford or the zebrafish to tell me this? Hasn’t the God who created me given permission, in fact, commanded me to get some rest -and to make a whole day of it?

Perhaps we tired Americans need a new sport competition [see news report below] or maybe we just need to listen to God and make some healthy changes to our lives or maybe we just need to stop complaining for what is the result of our own choices.

2 Responses to “New sport needed”


  1. October 27, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    Sometimes I feel that people need busyness to validate their identity, to feed their sense of worth. I’m guilty of that as much as anyone; although I no longer work, I choose to bustle through my days, filling them with errands and chores and Facebook (!) and Bible studies and book club and whatever . . . nothing wrong, just “stuff” that helps create a sense of purpose. I wonder how often we — I — miss the still small voice of God when we’re too busy filling our time up with activities, and how often we cheat ourselves of the energy to do the work God has for us because we allow ourselves to become exhausted in the process of hurrying through life. Thanks for this reminder to choose wise ways to use my precious time.

  2. 2 Karen
    October 31, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    So true, Ray! We do create the bulk of our own stress, and I think Jane has hit one of the nails right on the head in her comment as to our motivations. Then there are those things we can’t control as easily: I just spent half the night up and down out of bed like a Jack-in-the-Box feeling more and more desperate for sleep because my daughter had a cold and stuffy nose and was having nightmares (that she couldn’t breathe)! 😦 Sorry to say, I was so exhausted after all that “fun” into the wee hours that I missed church to sleep in a little this morning! Motherhood (and fatherhood) should come with a warning label, “May cause excessive sleep deprivation.”


Leave a Reply

re: the random-ness

Husband. Father. Senior Pastor of Parkview Community Church in Glen Ellyn, IL.

Ok...so you've located the place where I put down my random thoughts. The key word here is random: music, sports, art, food, books, news, spiritual musings, weird stories, etc. I'm especially interested in how everyday experiences of life intersect with the ancient stories of Scripture. Thanks for reading.
October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Thoughts gone by

"No problem can withstand the assault of substantial thinking." Voltaire

Pages


