30
Mar
10

never imagined

Just like his sister at Northwestern, I learned today that my son Corey has been named a National Merit Scholar.  Both he and his sister have been recognized by their respective universities — Corey heads to Vanderbilt in the fall.  I never imagined any offspring of mine would/could achieve such a level of academic excellence.  Clearly they inherited their brains, good looks and hair from their mother.  We’re all still trying to figure out my contribution.  I’m sure it must be irresistible charm.

In September, the NCAA football season opens on week one with Northwestern vs Vanderbilt — the projected game results were debated over dinner recently – we have now moved into a new era of sibling rivalry.

1 Response to “never imagined”


  1. 1 sheila
    April 3, 2010 at 3:10 am

    Just read through your bloc. I found it quite interesting and informative. I plan to attend your church for the first time on Easter morning with my daughter. After reading your bloc I am really interested in attending and hearing more.


Leave a Reply

re: the random-ness

Husband. Father. Senior Pastor of Parkview Community Church in Glen Ellyn, IL.

Ok...so you've located the place where I put down my random thoughts. The key word here is random: music, sports, art, food, books, news, spiritual musings, weird stories, etc. I'm especially interested in how everyday experiences of life intersect with the ancient stories of Scripture. Thanks for reading.
March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Thoughts gone by

"No problem can withstand the assault of substantial thinking." Voltaire

Pages


