10
Feb
10

Earthquake

It happened around 4:00am. It woke me from a deep sleep sounding like a snow plow rammed into our house. Although experts say it occurred more than 3 miles below ground, it shook my bed — but apparently not enough to keep me from rolling over and slipping back into an early morning drool producing slumber. When I got up later, I learned that a 3.8 magnitude quake hit our area outside Chicago. Wow. A little freaky. Anyone else out there feel the earth move?

1 Response to “Earthquake”


  1. 1 Kim Whetstone
    February 12, 2010 at 3:45 am

    We were awakened also. After checking on our children, we checked on our neighbors, who were startled by the event.I was shocked at how powerless I felt. Of course, we aren’t use to this type of action in Illinois. As I attempted to go back to sleep, I couldn’t help but contemplate how little I am, how big God is, and how our brothers and sisters in Haiti were doing exactly what I was when the quake hit…living. I drifted back to sleep only to awaken a couple hours later and once again contemplate my “smallness” and the people in Haiti. Our buildings were still standing. Our “quake” lasted a couple seconds. My kids slept through it. Life went on.It was shortly thereafter that I heard one reporter say that the quake in Haiti was over 30,000 times stronger than our little quake. Wow. I cannot even wrap my mind around that. That doesn’t just shake and shatter buildings. That shakes and shatter hearts and souls…lives. Lord have mercy. Christ have mercy. Thank you for being close to the brokenhearted.


Leave a Reply

re: the random-ness

Husband. Father. Senior Pastor of Parkview Community Church in Glen Ellyn, IL.

Ok...so you've located the place where I put down my random thoughts. The key word here is random: music, sports, art, food, books, news, spiritual musings, weird stories, etc. I'm especially interested in how everyday experiences of life intersect with the ancient stories of Scripture. Thanks for reading.
February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Thoughts gone by

"No problem can withstand the assault of substantial thinking." Voltaire

Pages


