30
Jan
10

another artist

It seems I’ve been introduced to a number of exceptional musicians lately – at least I think they’re exceptional. Obviously, the appreciation of art in any form tends to be pretty subjective. Like many, I enjoy thinking “But I really know what is good and what isn’t” – esp when it comes to music. Recognizing that just isn’t true, as a raging amateur music critic – I offer the sound of Alexi Murdoch for consideration.   

1 Response to “another artist”


  1. February 1, 2010 at 5:47 am

    I like it.

    There’s a band I’d like you to check out, actually. I think you’d dig em. They call their style “psychedelic folk-rock” I think it’s pretty apt. They’re called “I Come To Shanghai”

    http://icometoshanghai.com/home.html

    You can download their album for free, and then if you like it, choose to pay. A good model for an independent band, methinks…

    Anyway, it’s a little sad because many of their songs come from this “post-Christian” viewpoint. Someone who wanted the church, found the church exclusive, and left the church. Anyway…interesting stuff. Polished enough to be good to listen to, but raw enough to be unique. In my humble opinion, that is.


Leave a Reply

re: the random-ness

Husband. Father. Senior Pastor of Parkview Community Church in Glen Ellyn, IL.

Ok...so you've located the place where I put down my random thoughts. The key word here is random: music, sports, art, food, books, news, spiritual musings, weird stories, etc. I'm especially interested in how everyday experiences of life intersect with the ancient stories of Scripture. Thanks for reading.
January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Thoughts gone by

"No problem can withstand the assault of substantial thinking." Voltaire

Pages


