08
Jul
09

he’s an animal

Having both played and coached a lot of basketball over the years, I always thought my son would naturally want to play the sport. DSCN0031  When coaching boy’s high school ball, I’d bring him to the gym with me. He loved it. Truth be told, I even prayed for him to be at least 6’6″ — good size for a small foward. Well, God answered my prayer. At 17 years old, my son Corey is  6’7″ with a arm span of 6’10”. He, however, is not a basketball player but a volleyball player. This has been very difficult for me. Why? Because I’ve had to learn about a completely new sport!

volleyball championships

No disappoint here. It’s been exciting to see Corey grow, learn and increase in size and ability. As I write this, he is in Atlanta with his club team competing in the 2009 USA Junior Olympic Boy’s Volleyball Championships. Some colleges are now making recruitment contacts.

Will he play in college? I don’t know. I don’t care. I just love the kid. And as long as he shoots some hoops with me now and then…I’ll be ok.  He’s an animal!

0 Responses to “he’s an animal”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

re: the random-ness

Husband. Father. Senior Pastor of Parkview Community Church in Glen Ellyn, IL.

Ok...so you've located the place where I put down my random thoughts. The key word here is random: music, sports, art, food, books, news, spiritual musings, weird stories, etc. I'm especially interested in how everyday experiences of life intersect with the ancient stories of Scripture. Thanks for reading.
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Thoughts gone by

"No problem can withstand the assault of substantial thinking." Voltaire

Pages


