09
Jun
09

have you seen him?

jesus in marmite jarLast week, in Ystrad, Rhondda, south Wales, breakfast turned into a religious experience when Claire Allen, 36, spotted what she believes is the face of Jesus in a jar of Marmite. Claire was the first of her family to find the Savior on the underside of the lid as she was putting the yeast spread on her son’s toast. Claire’s husband Gareth, 37, said he could not believe his eyes. He admits, “When I first looked at it I wasn’t sure, but when I moved it away from me it started coming out. I thought Christ, yeah, she’s right – that’s the image of Jesus.” As far as Claire is concerned, “People might think I’m nuts, but I like to think it’s Jesus looking out for us.”

No offense to the Allens, but I’m not convinced this is any kind of miracle — I mean if this is the best God can do I’m most definitely disappointed.  Neither am I convinced the image on the lid is Jesus, John Lennon or Rasputin. But I am increasingly convinced that people all over are looking for Jesus. Unfortunately, I don’t think he is showing up in jars of yeast spread, candy or cheese snacks [see kitkatking and cheesus below].  Jesus can and will, however, be found in the kind compassionate generous servitude of his church. I wonder how many of those looking for him see him there?  Jesus said, “By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”kitkat Jesus

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

cheesus_

 

 

6 Responses to “have you seen him?”


  1. 1 JCasas
    June 11, 2009 at 11:42 am

    My sister has a can of tomatoes with the face of Jesus in the label. I’ve seen it, and it is a little unsettling. All I know is that her red sauce hasn’t been the same since.

  2. June 11, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    My tomato sauce has a picture of Paul Newman on the label. Does that mean he has supernaturally blessed my spaghetti?

  3. 5 Karen
    June 15, 2009 at 12:56 am

    To me, this sort of silliness bears witness to the hunger in the human heart for a real sense of the true God’s Presence. Truly He is “everywhere present and filling all things” as an Orthodox Christian prayer reads, but our modern mindset often times blinds us to this Presence, even when we come face to face with it in the compassion of another. May God give us eyes to see and ears to hear.

  4. November 19, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    People have offered Steve money for that Cheeto.


Leave a Reply

re: the random-ness

Husband. Father. Senior Pastor of Parkview Community Church in Glen Ellyn, IL.

Ok...so you've located the place where I put down my random thoughts. The key word here is random: music, sports, art, food, books, news, spiritual musings, weird stories, etc. I'm especially interested in how everyday experiences of life intersect with the ancient stories of Scripture. Thanks for reading.
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Thoughts gone by

"No problem can withstand the assault of substantial thinking." Voltaire

Pages


