03
Apr
09

Another trip to the Art Institue

Disturbing yet emotively captivating is how I might describe the unique work of Norwegian artist Edvard Munch [pronounced Moonk]. I spend some time with Margie at The Art Institute of Chicago yesterday staring at it.

There is a good chance Munch’s name is unfamiliar but perhaps his famous painting titled The Scream is recognizable.

thescream1

As you might surmise from the above painting, Munch’s work is ….well, different.  A good deal of what Munch painted is often connected to his emotional pain and instability.  His convulsed and agonizing art flowed from the misery and conflicts of his day, and, even more significantly perhaps, his own unhappy life.  As one contemporary critic asked, “Is it art or is it inanity?”  Not a bad question when it comes to the guy who gave his paintings titles like, Scream, Melancholy, Jealousy, Anxiety and who said things like, “From my rotting body, flowers shall grow and I am in them and that is eternity.”

Not all Munch’s work is weird. Actually, there are some exceptionally beautiful pieces in his collection. If you can get to see it – go.

Anxiety

anxiety

4 Responses to “Another trip to the Art Institue”


  1. 1 JCasas
    April 4, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    I’ve always liked this The Scream painting. You’ve got the guy in the front in agony and the couple on the bridge just strolling. It shows how life keeps on its day to day track no matter what kind of thing has you screaming. It’s always made me think that sometimes I’m like the couple oblivious to someone else’s agony and sometimes I’m the screamer freaking out when no one seems to notice. Cool thing about great art…you can pull what you want from it and interpret it through your own filter. Thanks for posting. I’ll have to check out the exhibit.

  2. 2 BC
    April 6, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    I’ve always been drawn to this painting – not sure what that says about me, I would like to think it speaks well of the painter and his ability to captivate an audience. Wish I were in Chicago to check out some of the rest of his work. Thanks for posting this. The Art Institute is definitely one of the things I miss about Chicago.

  3. 4 EmoCutie
    August 21, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    I just love art like this =]]


Leave a Reply

re: the random-ness

Husband. Father. Senior Pastor of Parkview Community Church in Glen Ellyn, IL.

Ok...so you've located the place where I put down my random thoughts. The key word here is random: music, sports, art, food, books, news, spiritual musings, weird stories, etc. I'm especially interested in how everyday experiences of life intersect with the ancient stories of Scripture. Thanks for reading.
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Thoughts gone by

"No problem can withstand the assault of substantial thinking." Voltaire

Pages


