12
Jan
09

life, death, etc.

It’s been a weekend focused on life. A memorial service at PCC on Saturday for a friend [about 1,000 people showed up] was a reminder of how life is brief.  Then on Sunday, Nancy Beach [WCC pastor, author] shared at Parkview on how we should slow down and live full lives by savoring every moment. She is right. Too often we rush through our days failing to appreciate the life we have….at least I do.

Here are a couple more quotes I came across over the past few days.

I HAVE a deep sense, hard to articulate, that if we could really befriend death we would be free people.… Our lives would be significantly different if we could relate to death as a familiar guest instead of a threatening stranger. … Many people seem never to befriend death and die as if they were losing a hopeless battle. But we do not have to share that sad fate.
-Henri J. M. Nouwen, A Letter of Consolation

Have courage for the great sorrows of life and patience for the small ones. And when you have finished your daily task,  go to sleep in peace. God is Awake.   – Victor Hugo

2 Responses to “life, death, etc.”


  1. 1 Theresa Meyer
    January 13, 2009 at 4:16 am

    Ray, Thank you for your thoughts. I know I sound like a broken record, because I recommend this book to anyone that will listen to me ramble! However, if you really want to “befriend death” as Henri Nouwen states, you must read FINAL GIFTS by Maggie Callanan & Patricia Kelley. Although not written from a Christian perspective, it has been the book that has helped me more than any to deal with death, whether it be a child in the hospital or that of my own parents.

    She (Callanan) published a new book in 2008, FINAL JOURNEYS, which is similiar but much more practical in teaching us to help others who are facing death.

    I would be more than happy to share my copies….a must read for anyone who does not want to shy away from the gift that dying can bring.

  2. 2 Marcia Sommerfeld
    January 21, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    I don’t mind death! I just don’t want to be there when it happens. 😉


Leave a Reply

re: the random-ness

Husband. Father. Senior Pastor of Parkview Community Church in Glen Ellyn, IL.

Ok...so you've located the place where I put down my random thoughts. The key word here is random: music, sports, art, food, books, news, spiritual musings, weird stories, etc. I'm especially interested in how everyday experiences of life intersect with the ancient stories of Scripture. Thanks for reading.
January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Thoughts gone by

"No problem can withstand the assault of substantial thinking." Voltaire

Pages


