13
Aug
08

Sweet home chicago

It always amazes me how, yesterday morning I was swimming in the gulf of Mexico just off a southern Florida beach and by 11:00pm I was slipping into to bed in Illinois.  How often we take for granted the convenient age in which we live.

I will miss the beach [although south Florida in August is what I imagine life would be like in a blast furnace]. Still, it is good to be home.

Although one of my biggest fears is to drown at sea…I love the ocean, perhaps because it’s vast power and mystery reminds me of the One who created it!

“There is the sea, vast and spacious, teeming with creatures beyond number– living things both large and small. There the ships go to and fro, and the leviathan [great sea creature], which you formed to frolic there. These all look to you to give them their food at the proper time.  When you give it to them, they gather it up; when you open your hand, they are satisfied with good things.”   -Psalm 104:25-28

0 Responses to “Sweet home chicago”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

re: the random-ness

Husband. Father. Senior Pastor of Parkview Community Church in Glen Ellyn, IL.

Ok...so you've located the place where I put down my random thoughts. The key word here is random: music, sports, art, food, books, news, spiritual musings, weird stories, etc. I'm especially interested in how everyday experiences of life intersect with the ancient stories of Scripture. Thanks for reading.
August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Thoughts gone by

"No problem can withstand the assault of substantial thinking." Voltaire

Pages


