01
Aug
08

next time I’ll just nap

Have you ever….on a day off from work tried to be a helpful spouse and complete a long avoided but often discussed home improvement project involving buying paint at Ace Hardware and returning to touch up faded or scuffed spots on walls and trim around the house most of which are the size of a proton only you can somehow notice and can’t stop obsessing on and so in an energetic and munificent moment of being a “do gooder” begin to paint with the artisitic precision of Michelangelo [blindfolded and on quaaludes] only to, like a total dufus, stumble your way across the room with a full can of paint in hand and [as time begins to advance in slow horrifying motion] spill a healthy portion on the living room carpet which you had no intention on replacing until both children are out of college or until Jesus returns in which case all carpets will be perfect and no longer be stainable?

Today, I did.  What a mess.  In response, I proceeded to do the first thing I could think of — stopped and took a nap.

4 Responses to “next time I’ll just nap”


  1. 1 Greg Doty
    September 2, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    Hey Ray,

    I don’t keep up with your blog..but can relate to Wet Paint…but here is my paint story from about 4 weeks ago I too was obsessing for a good six months noticing paint peeling in our bathroom ceiling…every time I took a shower … so I finally got around to dedicating 30 minutes to painting …so i get the job done in about 10 minutes still ahead of schedule…..well of course i lost my grip on the quart can of paint as I was stepping out of the tub and the can slipped out of paint stained hands and went flying……surprising how much a quart will cover in this application method 30 minutes turned into a good hour of clean up. So now I have a new obsession as to what to do with the slight discoloration of bathroom vanity etc. One good thing. the quart of paint only cost $2.00 on sale at ACE (it was one of those cans that gets returned and reduced for whatever reason) The ceiling looks great by the way!

  2. 2 rkollbocker
    September 2, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    I find comfort in knowing I’m not the only paint spiller around. I don’t know about you but I haven’t lifted a paint brush since my experience. The trauma has been long lasting.

  3. 3 Melissa
    September 18, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    So are you getting new carpet?

  4. 4 rkollbocker
    September 18, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    No….It was nearly the same color as the carpet and I scrubbed like a wild man to clean it up. Perfect? No. Passable? Yes.


Leave a Reply

re: the random-ness

Husband. Father. Senior Pastor of Parkview Community Church in Glen Ellyn, IL.

Ok...so you've located the place where I put down my random thoughts. The key word here is random: music, sports, art, food, books, news, spiritual musings, weird stories, etc. I'm especially interested in how everyday experiences of life intersect with the ancient stories of Scripture. Thanks for reading.
August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Thoughts gone by

"No problem can withstand the assault of substantial thinking." Voltaire

Pages


