18
Jul
08

a story of community

DISCLAIMER: recommending movies is not my thing. However.

I watched a movie last night…the first of my summer vacation. My expectations were low but it was recommended by a friend so I figured – why not?  Lars And The Real Girl surprised me. I liked it a lot. Call me crazy but it is a film about community in the truest biblical sense. 

There is no way to explain the plot and have it not sound goofy, weird or mildly perverted but this film is anything but foul or foolish. I watched it twice simply to experience the humor and humanity of the story of an entire town that rallies around a friend in need.

If you’ve seen the trailers – don’t let them fool you. The film has depth both artistically and morally. An early scene shows Lars sitting in a Sunday worship service at his church while the pastor’s words are heard in the background, “In this world there is only one true law. The Lord told us what to do – to love one another.” Apparently Lars’ community understood what the Lord meant.

Not a lot of movies make me think about Scripture. This one did.

If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.

3 Responses to “a story of community”


  1. July 22, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    I liked this film a lot as well… though it’s almost impossible to describe it to folks.

  2. 2 rkollbocker
    July 26, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    Yeah…you’ve got to see it to understand it.

  3. 3 Joanne
    August 12, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    I really liked it too. When I recommended it to my cousin she went on line to check the story line and then said it looked kind of weird and asked me why I liked it. I told her I liked it because it was tender and loving as well as amusing. Then I told her just to trust me. She saw it and loved it.


Leave a Reply

re: the random-ness

Husband. Father. Senior Pastor of Parkview Community Church in Glen Ellyn, IL.

Ok...so you've located the place where I put down my random thoughts. The key word here is random: music, sports, art, food, books, news, spiritual musings, weird stories, etc. I'm especially interested in how everyday experiences of life intersect with the ancient stories of Scripture. Thanks for reading.
July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Thoughts gone by

"No problem can withstand the assault of substantial thinking." Voltaire

Pages


