28
Jun
08

Carlin is gone

Maybe you heard. Comedian George Carlin died last Sunday at 71 years of age.  I had a great appreciation for Carlin.  He was a gifted guy who could be very funny by making clever observations about everyday life. One of my favorite shticks was his take on baseball vs. football.

I enjoy comparing baseball and football:
Baseball is a 19th century pastoral game.
Football is a 20th century technological struggle.
Baseball is played on a diamond, in a park. The baseball park!
Football is played on the gridiron, in a stadium, sometimes called Soldier Field or War Memorial.
Baseball begins in the spring, the season of new life.
Football begins in the fall, when everything is dying.
In football you wear a helmet.
In baseball you wear a cap.
Baseball has no time limit: we don’t know when it’s gonna end – might have extra innings.
Football is rigidly timed, and it will end even if we’ve got to go to sudden death.
And finally, the objectives of the two games are completely different:
In football the object is for the quarterback, also known as the field general, to be on target with his aerial assault, riddling the defense by hitting his receivers with deadly accuracy in spite of the blitz, even if he has to use the shotgun. With short bullet passes and long bombs, he marches his troops into enemy territory, balancing this aerial assault with a sustained ground attack that punches holes in the forward wall of the enemy’s defensive line.
In baseball the object is to go home! And to be safe! – I hope I’ll be safe at home!

Sadly, the clever enjoyable side of Carlin’s humor had a caustic bitter and vulgar side often exposing his self-proclaimed religion hating atheism. Here are few of his printable comments:

“I’ve begun worshipping the Sun for a number of reasons. First of all, unlike some other gods I could mention, I can see the Sun. It’s there for me every day. And the things it brings me are quite apparent all the time: heat, light, food, a lovely day. There’s no mystery, no one asks for money, I don’t have to dress up, and there’s no boring pageantry. And interestingly enough, I have found that the prayers I offer to the sun and the prayers I formerly offered to God are all answered at about the same 50-percent rate.”

“You are all diseased. I don’t have any beliefs or allegiances. I don’t believe in this country. I don’t believe in religion, or a god, and I don’t believe in all these man-made institutional ideas.”

“I would never want to be a member of a group whose symbol was a guy nailed to two pieces of wood.”

I want you to know, when it comes to believing in god- I really really tried. I tried to believe that there is a god who created each one of us in his own image and likeness, loves us very much and keeps a close eye on things. I really tried to believe that, but I gotta tell you, the longer you live, the more you look around, the more you realize…something is ……..WRONG here. War, disease, death, destruction, hunger, filth, poverty, torture, crime, corruption and the Ice Capades. Something is definitely wrong. This is NOT good work. If this is the best god can do, I am NOT impressed. Results like these do not belong on the resume of a supreme being. This is the kind of [stuff] you’d expect from an office temp with a bad attitude. And just between you and me, in any decently run universe, this guy would have been out on his all-powerful-keister a long time ago.

Carlin was correct in saying something is wrong here – ie. on earth. The word he refused to use is “sin.” Instead, he looked at other explanations and decried the idea of God.  Hearing about George Carlin’s death made me think how this famous and wealthy comedian tragically played the fool in more ways than one.

The fool says in his heart, “There is no God.” –Psalm 53:1

0 Responses to “Carlin is gone”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

re: the random-ness

Husband. Father. Senior Pastor of Parkview Community Church in Glen Ellyn, IL.

Ok...so you've located the place where I put down my random thoughts. The key word here is random: music, sports, art, food, books, news, spiritual musings, weird stories, etc. I'm especially interested in how everyday experiences of life intersect with the ancient stories of Scripture. Thanks for reading.
June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Thoughts gone by

"No problem can withstand the assault of substantial thinking." Voltaire

Pages


