07
May
08

new soul rising on charts

I’m always looking and listening for new music by new upcoming artists. One such person is Yael Naim. Born in France to Jewish parents, at age four she moved with her family to Israel where she grew up – even served in the Israeli Defense Force. Yael’s syle has been described as combining a touch of folk with a touch of jazz. I’m not exactly sure that’s how I would categorize it. All I know is -I like it. It’s an interesting sound. Currently, her song New Soul has been a top hit in the US since debuting on February 16, 2008.
While the song can be interpreted a number of ways, it seems to speak of a person trying to find their way in the world and making mistakes…as we all do. Perhaps the underlying message is we all need someone to guide us through the complexities of our strange existence.
I have no reason to think Yael had this in mind, but her lyrics make me think of how the Apostle Peter labels Christians as “strangers in the world.”

Here are the lyrics and a video of the song. Granted, the video comes across a bit random.

I’m a new soul
I came to this strange world
Hoping I could learn a bit bout how to give and take
But since I came here, felt the joy and the fear
Finding myself making every possible mistake

La, la, la, la (21x)
La, la, la, la (21x)

See I’m a young soul in this very strange world
Hoping I could learn a bit bout what is true and fake
But why all this hate? try to communicate
Finding trust and love is not always easy to make

La, la, la, la (21x)
La, la, la, la (21x)

This is a happy end
Cause you don’t understand
Everything you have done
Why’s everything so wrong

This is a happy end
Come and give me your hand
I’ll take you far away

I’m a new soul
I came to this strange world
Hoping I could learn a bit bout how to give and take
But since I came here, felt the joy and the fear
Finding myself making every possible mistake

New soul… (la, la, la, la,…)
In this very strange world…
Every possible mistake
Possible mistake
Every possible mistake
Mistakes, mistakes, mistakes…

4 Responses to “new soul rising on charts”


  1. 1 Larry Eisner
    May 8, 2008 at 4:45 am

    So I’m not a big Noel Yaim (did I get it right?) fan. I like that song, but only because Apple drilled it into my skull with all those Macbook Air commercials…

    A band I’m really getting into is called the Flobots. They’re a group of white socio-political rappers from Denver (yeah…I don’t know how that happened either), but they’re really really good.

    May I please suggest that you listen to either “Handlebars” or “We Are Winning” (both available on iTunes) as I think (whether or not you like rap) you may like it a lot. It’s not like “boom-boom” gangster rap. It’s very politically/socially motivated, as far as I can tell by the couple of songs I’m hooked on. I cannot vouch for the cleanliness of their stuff as the two songs I mentioned are all that I own of theirs (but those two are clean).

    It’s simply put very exciting stuff. They’re all about countering this “whatever” culture we’re in right now. They have songs about being loving to people, being more active in your community, thinking for yourself, etc… I’m quite sure they aren’t coming from a Christian perspective, but I think a lot of it resonates with my take on the church. (I personally feel that revival at this point comes with a social responsibility that “the church in general” seems to be ducking at the moment. That of being active in our love. That living your life for Christ is great, but if you’re not serving, you’re not going to make an impact…)

    Anyway, enough ranting from me… but I think you should check them out. If anything, it will likely freak out Corey that you’re listening to them… Supposedly this song “handlebars” is getting a lot of radio play. I wouldn’t know. I don’t listen to the radio much. šŸ™‚

  2. 2 rkollbocker
    May 8, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    I’m not sure I can classify as a Yael Naim “fan” – the song is quirky and I found her story fascinating…but perhaps I have been brainwashed by Apple commercials! Re: Flobots. I’m not sure I’ve ever heard a rap song [we are winning] with violin – I liked it. I esp liked Handlebars.

  3. May 9, 2008 at 4:50 am

    Really nice find Ray. I like the video… quite joyful.

  4. 4 Larry Eisner
    May 9, 2008 at 5:18 am

    I’m sad. The only thing I thought of watching the video was “man, it’s gonna suck to have to find a new house, now that yours has become a party barge. And where did those movers go? Did they drown?” I know it’s a silly video for a quirky song, but for some reason my brain was all over the place on that one. šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

re: the random-ness

Husband. Father. Senior Pastor of Parkview Community Church in Glen Ellyn, IL.

Ok...so you've located the place where I put down my random thoughts. The key word here is random: music, sports, art, food, books, news, spiritual musings, weird stories, etc. I'm especially interested in how everyday experiences of life intersect with the ancient stories of Scripture. Thanks for reading.
May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Thoughts gone by

"No problem can withstand the assault of substantial thinking." Voltaire

Pages


